A Rich History
The three villages of Checkley, Hollington and Tean have separate identities but they are physically joined together to the extent that it is difficult to distinguish where one ends and another begins. Checkley is a small village on the north side of the River Tean, Its parish contains 2322 souls and about 5800 acres of fertile land, lying in three divisions. Hollington is a village celebrated for its quarries of excellent white freestone, of which many churches have been erected in this county, and many thousand scythe stones are made yearly. The stone may be got in blocks of 100 feet or upwards. Tean is composed of two villages: Upper Tean (the larger of the two) and Lower Tean both lying on the river Tean, the village boasts two schools and a number of local independent businesses. The first elected Council for the Parish of Checkley was established in December 1894. At the post war election in 1946, as well as a compulsory ballot, provision was made for a separate Hollington Ward. Previously the eleven members of the council had been elected generally from the Parish. With the creation of the separate ward three members are chosen by Hollington and eight by the rest of the Parish. The first females elected to Checkley Parish Council were Polly Evans and Mary. E Grace in 1946, the former serving eleven years and the latter thirteen years.